An Introduction to the Ajna, Brow, Third Eye or Indigo Chakra

Ajna, Brow or Third Eye Chakra Photo - Vancouver BC Canada - The Eden Healing Centre. ©

The ajna, brow, third eye or indigo chakra is located in the center of the forehead.

An open third eye will help you experience spiritual wisdom and enlightenment. It is the center of physical and spiritual understanding. This is why it is sometimes called the 'mind center' chakra, as well.

This sixth chakra is related to the act of seeing, both physically and intuitively. As such it opens our psychic faculties and our understanding of archetypal levels. When healthy it allows us to see clearly, in effect, letting us "see the big picture".

This fact has given rise to the notion of Crystal, Rainbow and Indigo Children Characteristics. For example, see the following article entitled 'Indigo, Crystal and Rainbow Children' by Doreen Virtue, Ph.D.

Indigo, Crystal and Rainbow Children - Dr. Doreen Virtue

The color for this 6th chakra is indigo, a combination of red and blue. It deals with inner vision, intuition, clairvoyance, insight, perception, imagination, concentration, peace of mind.

Physically, the brow chakra governs the pituitary gland, the left brain hemisphere and the nervous system in addition to the ears, the nose and the left eye.

To help activate this 3rd eye chakra, flowers are extremely helpful. Clothing and lighting in indigo also stimulate this chakra.

The symbol of the 3rd eye chakra is the pyramid.

The indigo chakra wavelength and frequency are approximately: 440-470 nm / 682-638 THz. The corresponding musical note is: A.

The ajna or brow chakra postures are (please consult a yoga instructor to practice these postures as you may need guidance):

Yoga Postures for Brow Chakra - The Fish Exercise

Yoga Postures for Ajana Chakra - The Shoulder Stand Exercise

Yoga Postures for Third Eye Chakra - The Sukh-Purvak Exercise

Yoga Postures for Indigo Chakra - The Meditation Exercise

Finally, some of the ajana or brow chakra quotes, quotations and sayings are:

Quotations and Chakras - The Sixth Chakra

Do you want to google translate this page instantly?
Please choose your language below. Thank you!

Go from the Sixth Chakra Page
to the Seventh Chakra Page
or to the 'Chakra Symbols Introduction' Main Page

Return to the Home Page