An Introduction to the Anahata, Heart, Love or Green Chakra

Anahata or Heart Chakra Image - Vancouver BC Canada - The Eden Healing Centre. ©

The anahata, heart or green chakra is called so as it is located near the heart. This fourth chakra is the middle one of the seven chakras system. It is related to love and is the integrator of opposites in the psyche: mind and body, male and female, persona and shadow, ego and unity…etc.

The color for this chakra is green or pink. It is most important in all facets of love; when it is balanced, you trust in others, take risks, love and feel loved. Conversely, don’t we say that ‘someone is green with envy?’!

A healthy 4th chakra allows us to love deeply, feel compassion, have a deep sense of peace, centeredness, balance and harmony.

This chakra deals with physical healing. It governs the thymus gland, heart, blood, circulatory system and the immune system. Also it controls the endocrine system, lower lungs, rib cage, skin and upper back.

To help activate this green chakra, eat lots of green vegetables and surround yourself by nature, especially trees and plants. The symbol of this chakra is the crescent.

This chakra wavelength and frequency are approximately: 500-560 nm / 600-535 THz. The corresponding musical note is: F.

The anahata or heart chakra postures are (please consult a yoga instructor to practice these postures as you may need guidance):

Yoga Postures for Green Chakra - The Camel Exercise

Yoga Postures for Heart Chakra - The Cobra Exercise

Yoga Postures for Anahata Chakra - The Fish Exercise

Yoga Postures for Fourth Chakra - The Sukh-Purvak Exercise

Finally, some of the anahata chakra quotes, quotations and sayings are:

Quotations and Chakras - The Fourth Chakra

Do you want to google translate this page instantly?
Please choose your language below. Thank you!

Go from the Fourth Chakra Page
to the Fifth Chakra Page
or to the 'Chakra Symbols Introduction' Main Page

Return to the Home Page